Recipe Remedies: Spicy Ginger Chicken


Good evening!

Boy, am I stuffed. My recipe remedy for this week was a huge success, and I have a happy, full tummy to prove it. I also love that this is a crockpot recipe–not as much clean-up!

The Original Recipe

  • 12 chicken drumsticks and/or thighs (2.5 to 3 pounds total), skinned
  • 2 14.5 oz. cans Muir Glen No-Salt-Added Diced Tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon snipped fresh cilantro or parsley
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 3 cups hot cooked whole grain couscous
  • 2 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley

Since tapioca is a starch, and since nut flours can be a substitute for starches, I used coconut flour to thicken the sauce.

I diced 5 tomatoes instead of using canned diced tomatoes, and since canned tomatoes have excess juice, I used approximately 4 ounces tomato juice to supplement the tomatoes.

Instead of brown sugar, I substituted 1 3/4 teaspoons honey.

And lastly, thanks to a suggestion from tastyeatsathome, I substituted cauliflower, chopped into rice-sized bits, for the couscous.

Spicy Ginger Chicken

  • 2.5 to 3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, trimmed of fat
  • 5 large tomatoes, diced
  • approx. 4 ounces tomato juice
  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon snipped fresh cilantro or parsley
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley
  • 1 large cauliflower
  • butter and salt, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Place chicken pieces in a 3 1/2- or 4- quart slow cooker.
  2. For sauce, in a medium bowl combine diced tomatoes, tomato juice, coconut flour, ginger, cilantro, garlic, honey, salt, and crushed red pepper. Pour sauce over chicken.
  3. Cover and cook on low heat for 6-7 hours or on high heat for 3-3 1/2 hours. Skim fat from sauce. Serve with cauliflower.
  4. For cauliflower, cut into florets and steam until just soft. In food processor, chop into rice-sized pieces. Add butter and salt, to taste.

Bon Appetit!

  • Like “Recipe Remedies”? Don’t miss a single one! Subscribe for e-mail or RSS updates, and feel free to comment below to tell me what you think. Your feedback is much appreciated. Happy cooking, everyone!

(I entered this Recipe in Slightly Indulgent Tuesday 5/25/10, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday 5/24/10, Gluten-Free Wednesdays 5/26/10, and Real Food Wednesday 5/26/10)

8 thoughts on “Recipe Remedies: Spicy Ginger Chicken

  1. I like both versions actually. I love crockpot recipes, just like what you said,there’s not much cleaning up to do, lol! And not much instructions either. But they really are a hearty food, very heartwarming I think, my kids simply love it!

    • Cauliflower for couscous was an experiment of mine, since I didn’t want to use my usual stand-by substitution for pasta: spaghetti squash. I was very pleased with the results.

  2. Cauliflower for croucous! Brilliant! I plan to try to use it to substitute for rice in my comfort food recipe of broccoli chicken casserole.

Leave a comment