Substitutions


Hello, all!

I hope your week has been successful in the culinary realm. So far, I’ve not had one opportunity to experiment in the kitchen, but I have done a lot of thinking. So rest assured; I will have a recipe for you by the end of the week!

My topic for today is substitutions. Being on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, it’s sometimes hard to substitute certain ingredients.

For instance, what do you do when you want to make beef stew? We always used to put potatoes in our stew, but since they aren’t allowed on the diet, we usually just leave them out. However, recently I was experimenting on a recipe brainstorm for my cookbook and discovered that mushrooms make a hearty substitute in stews. Hoorah!

Another one of my favorite substitutes has been spaghetti squash. I use it in place of rice and–you guessed it–spaghetti. Italian meals aren’t the same without some sort of pasta, but spaghetti squash looks like the real thing and almost tastes like the real thing with lots of sauce, butter and salt. I even eat it plain. It’s soooo good.

What different substitutions have you discovered over the years?

3 thoughts on “Substitutions

  1. I love the idea of using mushrooms in a stew. Cause that would be DELICIOUS. And I love spaghetti squash! I love it even with just a bit of butter and salt. Yum. Can you eat cauliflower? It does well as a subsitute for potatoes – like a mashed potato substitute. It also subs out well for rice – if you partially cook it (cut it into florets and boil for a few minutes or steam) and then put it in the food processor and process until it’s about the size of rice, it works well! Be careful not to overindulge though – a lot of cauliflower can cause “issues”.

    • I love eating spaghetti squash all by itself (especially with butter and salt!! :D). I was racking my brain yesterday, trying to remember other substitutions I’ve made, and cauliflower for potatoes was one of them. I do that for Thanksgiving every year! I didn’t know that cauliflower would be a substitute for rice, though… thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

