Diet Experiment: A Lesson in Moderation


After four years on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, I understand how tiresome the same foods can become (I wrote on this topic here). I also know how difficult it is to make yourself try new foods. I for one have always been overly cautious when I try something new (that is SCD legal, of course). Sometimes I just refuse to try it at all. 

This week I tried peanuts for the second time since I started the SCD. I’d noticed a couple years ago that, whenever I made peanut butter cookies, I got nauseous and uncomfortable after I ate. So I swore off anything with peanuts. In the last couple of weeks, I decided to try them again. I ate them every day for about a week (the time period recommended in Elaine Gottschall’s book Breaking the Viscous Cycle).

At first, I seemed fine, so I increased the amount I ate. After a few days, however, I started to feel queasy and got a few minor twinges. I realized that I could eat peanuts, but only in moderation.

Moderation has always been a major part of my life since I began this diet, but sometimes I just feel like forgetting the whole thing and eating as much as I please. This is something that we all should guard ourselves against, because it could be detrimental, not just to our gut but to our weight and general health. A balanced, portioned diet can make all the difference.

Well, that’s all I have to say about that subject! It’s a lesson I’m continuing to learn every day.

P.S. My Recipe Remedy is still in progress. I should be able to post it by tonight or tomorrow, so stay tuned!

One thought on “Diet Experiment: A Lesson in Moderation

  1. I have been on SCD for 3 years and done moderately well. but this last year it seemed I went in the opposite dirrection. I found more and more I couldn’t tolerate foods I had. Then I read an article talking how alot of time we become sensitive to the very foods we replaced things with because we eat so much. I am trying a rotation diet SCD style and find it is going better so far. I have come to disagree with Elaine’s way of thinking about introducing a small amount of food and then increasing everyday. Doing it this way I never could tolerate the yogurt. –even small amounts. I read if you have become sensitive to foods it is an histamine response in your gut and it takes 4 days to clear the antigen. I have found I am able to eat a cup of yogurt every fifth day. I’m hoping it continues. Just another journey on my tummy travels with food. So it’s not only how much you eat but how often like your blog said

Leave a Reply

