Pickiness Doesn’t Pay


If you are a picky eater, you know what it’s like to have to go on a restrictive diet. So many options that would be available on that restrictive diet aren’t because you “don’t like it.” I am (or rather, was) one of the worst picky eaters. Most of the time, I’d say that I didn’t like a particular food simply because I’d never tried it. Shame on me!

After months of eating the same old things over and over and over again, I realized that I had to get over this pickiness, or I’d die of boredom on the SCD.

Little things, like putting fruit in my yogurt (which I’d never before found appealing) and trying shrimp scampi, have made a world of difference. I actually found a recipe for asparagus (I despise asparagus) that I might actually try! Once I got over my pickiness, the diet became ten times more delicious. 

So, my advice to you picky eaters is this: STOP IT! (To quote Bob Newhart)

😀

4 thoughts on “Pickiness Doesn’t Pay

  1. You are too funny. Now only if just telling the rest of my family to “STOP IT!” would work, I’d be in heaven. I’m a non-picky eater in a sea of picky eaters, LOL! I can only imagine how restricted you must have felt at first then!

    • It was very tough at first, and I’m still working on my pickiness. My mom is the non-picky person in our family, and she gets frustrated sometimes with my stubbornness. I’m thankful that God has made me less stubborn about food in the past four years. 🙂

  2. Love this! I had the same problem. I’m a huge texture person and so certainly foods were really hard for me to swallow, let a lone get it anywhere near my mouth. I found that combining those ingredients with others things made me slowly start to like the ingredient by itself. (Can you believe I used to refuse to eat onions and peppers?) I LOVE them now, I was crazy… haha

    ~Aubree Cherie

    • Aubree,

      Textures bother me, too, but if the food is cooked just right, I’m okay with it. Green beans have to be fairly crisp, and I can’t eat strawberries if the outside is even the slightest bit soft.

      😀

Leave a Reply

