My Road Trip Food Log


This past weekend, my family and I journeyed up to the Houston area for a time of singing and dancing. Naturally, I planned my menu, understanding that exceptions and alterations might arise (which they did, in fact).

Saturday:

For breakfast, I ate at IHOP. They have this delicious new dish, sirloin tips (which were tossed with sauteed onions and mushrooms) and scrambled eggs. Heaven. On previous visits to IHOP, I had ascertained that  the meat was cooked in butter and that the eggs were, in fact, REAL eggs. So I didn’t even bother this time to ask. I understand that some of you may feel that you must ask every time. Whatever makes you feel the most secure is what is important.

Since I was stuffed from breakfast and the health snacks I’d brought along on the road, I skipped the lunch I had brought with me, and snacked on nuts after the dance. All the excitement of reuniting with old friends and dancing to my heart’s content left no more room for an appetite.

Sunday morning, I sweetened some homemade yogurt with honey and tossed some blackberries in to add a burst of flavor. Yum. I also consumed over half a dozen strawberries and a slice of cantaloupe. I was starving after all that exercise!

Since we were so exhausted after the long car trip and the late night, we decided to head on home after church. The lunch I had planned for Sunday was ignored, even though I was pretty hungry. I snacked on some cheese while we looked for a Whataburger.

A what? Yes, a Whataburger. Whataburger has real meat in their burgers. So I just asked for a plain, dry burger. It was the first time in over three years I’d been through a drive-through. It kinda made me giddy. Ha!

When I got home, I ate some more yogurt, since I’ve found that it soothes my stomach (and I also happen to really really like it). Just in case the trip was going to affect me in anyway, I’ve been taking it easy the past 24 hours.

So there’s a peek at what a weekend away from home is like for me. What do you do when you’re away from the home, but have to adhere to a strict diet like the SCD?

3 thoughts on “My Road Trip Food Log

  1. Whataburger is really pretty darn decent when it comes to fast food options when obstaining from gluten. It’s sad just how un-tasty most burger patties are, once you remove the bun, sauces, etc. Whataburgers are still pretty decent. So IHOP was good to you? I’m kind of afraid to eat there – you know, all that cross-contamination, and the fact that in their omelets, at least, they add pancake batter to the eggs.

    • So far, I have had no issues with IHOP, for which I am very thankful. Since my family and I go on at least one road trip a year, it’s good to know I have a place at which I can safely and confidently eat. Not being able to eat the omelets is a disadvantage, of course, but I never was very fond of omelets. 😀

  2. Sounds like you really made traveling work for you! I definitely struggle with it still. It’s always good to know ahead of time what dishes you can eat at which restaurants though.

    ~Aubree Cherie

Leave a Reply

