Recipe Remedies: Chicken Parmesan


Since this coming weekend is taken with preparations for my church’s very first wedding celebration, I’ll be posting this week’s remedy a day early. Yay!

This was an impulsive recipe remedy, as I had no food to bring with me to the rehearsal dinner tomorrow night. Praise God, it turned out great the first time I tried it!

The Original Recipe

  • 4 chicken breast halves (about 2 lbs), skinned and boned
  • 1/3 cup fine, dry breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried whole basil
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • Vegetable cooking spray
  • 1 (8 0z) can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried whole basil
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup (1 oz) shredded mozzarella cheese

 I substituted the breadcrumbs with 1/3 cup coconut flour. It coated the chicken nicely and tasted great when cooked.

Instead of a 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, I used 1 medium clove of garlic. Since I love garlic, I thought it was perfect, but my father thought it was a touch too much. So, it’s really up to you how much you use.

I used regular tomato sauce, which we made absolutely sure did not have any sugar. However, I would suggest for SCD beginners that you cook down tomato juice for your sauce.

Since I am sensitive to Parmesan cheese, I filled my palm and sprinkled it lightly over the chicken. Of course, if you don’t have issues with parmesan, by all means follow the measurement specified in the original recipe.

Lastly, since mozzarella cheese is off-limits for SCDieters, I replaced it with havarti cheese which, when melted, is very similar in taste to mozzarella. In fact, I think it tastes even better.

Chicken Parmesan

  • 4 chicken breasts, skinned and boned
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried whole basil
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • Olive oil
  • 8 oz. tomato sauce
  • 1 medium clove garlic, pressed
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried whole basil
  • Parmesan cheese, to taste
  • Havarti cheese, to taste

Instructions

  1. Combine breadcrumbs, 1/4 teaspoon basil, and pepper. Dip chicken pieces in egg; coat in breadcrumb mixture.
  2. Coat a large nonstick skillet with olive oil and place over medium-high heat until hot. Place chicken breasts in skillet, and cook until lightly browned on both sides. Remove from skillet, and arrange chicken breasts in a 12- x 8- x 2- inch baking dish.
  3. Combine tomato sauce, garlic, and 1/4 teaspoon basil; pour over chicken. Cover and back at 350 degrees for approx. 40 minutes. Sprinkle with havarti cheese; broil for about 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

  • Like “Recipe Remedies”? Don’t miss a single one! Subscribe for e-mail or RSS updates, and feel free to comment below to tell me what you think. Your feedback is much appreciated. Happy cooking, everyone!

(I entered this recipe in Real Food Wednesday 4/21/10)

4 thoughts on “Recipe Remedies: Chicken Parmesan

  1. Yummy! I would have never thought to use coconut flour as a replacement for breadcrumbs in a dish like this. Sounds like a good idea!

  2. I like the idea of using coconut flour to coat the chicken, I have used almond flour to bread mine in the past with great success. Can’t wait to try your version! Thanks

Leave a Reply

