Speaking of Meds…


Today I went for my annual check-up. First off, I want to spread the good news: my blood work is absolutely, positively, happily NORMAL. NORMAL! God has certainly blessed me in the past year.

As I mentioned previously, I asked my gastroenterologist about tapering off one of my medications, a steroid I have been taking since I was first diagnosed. He gave me the go-ahead. Praise God! He suggested a quick taper, one that would only take a couple of months, but I have the freedom to decrease the dosage at my own pace.

I figure that in a year’s time, I should be completely off my steroids! Of course, if at any time I feel a negative change in my system, I will be readjusting my dosage. I am not as concerned as I was about remaining on the medication; my doctor assures me that it will not adversely affect future pregnancies. Even so, I’d rather not be on them when the time comes to have children.

Tapering off my meds, I realized, isn’t as easy as it seems. I have several considerations to take into account.

  • First, my system has to be stable. Well it is, and has been for nineteen months, with only a couple minor relapses.
  • Next, I have to consult my schedule. This year, I have three major trips coming up: one to Houston, Texas, one to Long Island, New York, and one to Moscow, Idaho. With all that travelling and changed eating habits (eating out, having limited resources, etc.), my digestive tract may not be ready for a decrease in the meds.

Those things considered, my family and I have decided that it would be best to wait until I am back on a normal schedule. Our travelling should be done by mid-July. I plan to start tapering my medications in mid-August, after I’ve had sufficient time to re-acclimate myself to home life.

Please keep me in prayer as I prepare to decrease my dosages, not only that I would not be affected by the change, but that I will persevere even more to remain strictly on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet.

Oh, and P.S.: In case you were beginning to wonder, my first recipe “Remedy” should be making an appearance either by the end of this week or the beginning of next. So stay tuned!!

😀

10 thoughts on “Speaking of Meds…

  1. Good for you!
    It sounds like you have put alot of thought and rresearch into this. I applaud you.
    Take care of you,
    Aunt Jayne

  2. I wish you the best in the coming months. A travel schedule like that can definitely upset anyone’s system – and those of us with digestive issues really feel the effects. I just came back from a trip, and I’m still dealing with the repercussions of travel! I am excited that you can taper off your steroids, that sounds excellent!

  3. What fun trips are ahead for you! I love Idaho, I lived there for a short time. Traveling does cause a problem with eating doesn’t it? I love to travel but I don’t like having to worry about food. I can regulate my diet much better in the comforts of my own home! Glad to hear you will be able to taper off the steroids!

    • Idaho is beautiful!

      Travel is difficult, but I’ve learned how to maximize the resources that are available away from home. Planning ahead is a major part of that, as I’m sure you know. 😀

  4. I just read through your posts and just have to say its so refreshing to see God alive in someone’s life! I wish you good luck in all your endeavors!

    Jer 29:11

  5. Hi Denise,

    I recently found your blog and love it! It’s great to see another person of faith having success with the SCD. I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in mid-January and was in the hospital for 3 weeks in February. I was on high doses of prednisone, and finished tapering off of it last week. Now I’m just on vitamins and Remicade, though I hope to eventually be med-free. My doctor said we can discuss possibly stopping the Remicade after a year.

    Take care!

    • It’s very encouraging to know that people enjoy my blog. Thank you!

      I am so happy to hear that your doctor is already open to stopping your meds so soon. My case was so severe that my doctors never spoke of it unless I brought it up. I’m still praising God that my GI was agreeable this time!

      God bless, Dan!

Leave a Reply

