Diet vs. Meds


If you have Crohn’s, Celiac, Ulcerative Colitis, or any other digestive disease, you’ve probably had doctors urge medication on you. Maybe you’re already on medications for your condition. I am.

So what happens if you want to start the Specific Carbohydrate Diet? Do you go on the diet and stop your medications?

I don’t pretend to know exactly how you should decide. When I was first diagnosed, I had little choice but to take the medications. My disease had progressed to such a point that I needed instant relief. It was too late to give the diet a chance to do its healing work.

Medication, however, does not heal. It only tamps down the problem. And medications, in my opinion, are not always good for your body in the long run. Sure, you may be free of pain, bloating, inflammation, and diarreha, but that doesn’t mean other parts of your body won’t be affected. On the other hand, the Specific Carbohydrate Diet gives the digestive tract a break, a time of healing. There’s no possible damage good, nourishing food can do to your body.

This doesn’t mean that you just stop taking your meds. I’m doing both meds and diet because I have to, but I am looking to the future, to the time when I can start weaning off my steroids. One of the highest priorities in my life is to marry and have children. I don’t know about you, but steroids + baby just don’t mix in my book.

So, what is my advice? If you are adamant about stopping your meds, consult your physician as to the correct procedure. Cutting them completely from your body all at once can be detrimental to your health. In about a week, I am going for my annual check-up with my gastroenterologist. I will be informing him that I would like to try tapering off my meds in the near future. How would he suggest I do this? If he advises against the taper, I will be asking for his reasons. Of course, since he will have reasons for his disagreement, I will be taking that into serious consideration. The doctor knows his business, and if he sees in my tests and my overall well-being signs of vulnerability, I will not be tapering off my medications.

In the meantime, I will continue to live on the SCD. Praise God; it has gotten me to the point where I can actually consider being rid of my meds! So I can be patient a while longer.

13 thoughts on “Diet vs. Meds

  1. Thanks for sending me this link!
    If it is OK with you I would like to put it on my blog with you as the guest writer.

  2. When I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I took myself off all my meds (I know – stupid move) but it worked out for me. Not that I would ever recommend such a thing.
    I will be interested in hearing what your doctor tells you and how you do with it.
    I wish you well,
    Aunt Jayne

  3. I lived with Crohn’s for six years, treating my disease naturally with no meds. Then, it got worse. And I was on steroids and crazy scary medications, and had to have surgery. In my opinion, avoid the medical world as long as possible, but once it gets to a certain point, you may need their help. It worked for me in the long run, because I feel so much better!

    • I am so glad you feel better! I hope you don’t think I was condemning meds (after all, I’ve been thankful for them in spite of the fact that I’d rather not be on them); I’m just a bit passionate about the subject!! 😀

  4. I think it would be hard to always have to be on meds. But I do think meds are a blessing too. They have helped my niece during some pretty bad flare-ups. I wonder how it is for women who have Crohn’s and are pregnant? You are on the right track though being so aware of your diet and taking good care of yourself. 🙂

    Happy Easter!

    • Judi,

      I have had to take extra meds during flare-ups. I don’t like to, but at the same time I am thankful that I have them available; I’d rather take some meds and be done with it than have to go back to the hospital for three days!

      Part of the reason I want to wean off my medications is because of the fact that, if I get married in the near future, I would want to have a baby pretty much right away, and I wouldn’t be comfortable getting pregnant while I was on steroids.

  5. hi girl

    i came here through the home from wilderness. I love to read posts such as this. very inspirational. Natural healing, dieting, has for several times proved its power over medication. I pray that your body entirely win over this disease.

    hugs,
    Gleenn

  6. I’m all for as few meds as possible, but I have been on meds both before I went gluten-free, and now, and am only recently off of some of them. I’m still healing and still dealing with symptoms, even on a clean diet, but after trying to visit the doctor numerous times, being given numerous meds that a) didn’t work and b) made the problems worse, I’ve now gone back to using supplements and natural solutions, and am hoping that helps. Until I get back to semi-normal, I’ll just lay off of the “crap” food so I can heal. Good for you to see this – that your body will respond much more quickly to healing with wholesome foods in it, and even if you need the meds in the short while, hopefully you’ll be able to wean yourself off of them much more quickly!

  7. I’ve never been on digestive related meds, so I have not personal experience. Your thinking sounds reasonable to me though.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  8. Hello there sister in Christ and Crohns,

    Just wanted to relay to you that I was diagnosed with Crohns when I was 8 years old with many bad flares and was on and off steroids and other meds.

    However, in my twenties I was able to wean off them and wanted to let you know I have 4 beautiful children. I had absolutely wonderful pregnancies and felt wonderful which they say is common. AFter each one though I had flares. When I had my 3rd baby the Lord spoke to me from his word about not going back on meds and learning about different allternatives. It has been a journey for sure.

    It wasn’t until after they were born that I found out about the SCD. so happy to find your blog . Love the recipes

Leave a Reply

