“Udder” Perfection


Making homemade yogurt isn’t as hard as it seems. What’s heating some milk, cooling it down, tossing in some yogurt starter, and letting it sit in a machine for 24 hours?

But at first, my mom and I weren’t getting the results we wanted. The yogurt was too thin–so thin you could drink it. When I tried to sweeten it, the honey wouldn’t mix in properly, leaving globs for me to skillfully avoid with my spoon.

Yuck.

And then, all of a sudden, that changed. I tried a batch of yogurt and found it thick, creamy, and tasty. Wow! We didn’t know what we’d done to this particular batch, but whatever it was, we hoped we’d do it again.

No such luck.

What had made the difference in that batch? After thinking about it for a long while, and experimenting with different brands of milk, we finally realized that it was Promised Land Dairy‘s whole milk that had made our yogurt “udderly” perfect.

Promised Land Dairy uses Jersey cows, whose milk has higher protein, nonfat milk solids, calcium, and butterfat content than other breeds. These factors are most likely what gives the homemade yogurt a thicker, creamier consistency. These cows are grass-fed and, if you are on the “no-artificial-hormones” bandwagon, Promised Land Dairy fits the bill.

If you can’t get Promised Land where you live, just check out the brands that are available and see if they come from Jersey cows.

Happy yogurt-making, y’all!

(Yogurt starters and makers can be found at GI Pro Health—My yogurt maker is from Lucy’s Kitchen Shop)

14 thoughts on ““Udder” Perfection

  1. Hi,
    Thanks for the comments. Would love to trade blog links. I like to keep up with other SCD bloggers and trade ideas. Spreading knowledgre is so important since there are so many people who don’t know options exist other than drugs and surgery when dealing with digestive issues. All the best!

  2. Happy Friday Denise 🙂

    I made lots of yogurt when I was doing SCD and always wished it would be thicker. I finally started dripping it but then the quantity went way down. Then, I realized I can’t do dairy–AT ALL! I also experimented with coconut milk yogurt, almond milk and goat milk yogurt. I don’t make any of it now. Glad you and your mom figured out what made it thicker 😉

  3. Welcome to the blogging world, Denise! I’m sure your story will be helpful to many and I’m sure that you will find help through others, too. The blogging community is amazing. One of my favorite bloggers who does SCD is Naomi Devlin over at Straight Into Bed Cakefree and Dried (the URL is http://milkforthemorningcake.blogspot.com/). Naomi is a homeopath and nutritionist and also has a site for that (link from her other site). She makes some amazing meals and treats on SCD.

    I’m glad you figured out a way to make good yogurt. I’ve never made it myself. Different folks attest to different methods. Some folks like crockpots; others like yogurt makers, and some don’t use either. As long as you find what works!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! All the best,

    Shirley

  4. My dad swears by making his own yogurt…I am not sure what kind of machine he has but he says the product is 100% better than anything he can buy. He says it helps his digestive problems too!

    Thanks for your nice comment today! Look forward to reading more of your blog.

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog! I homeschool our four children! We love the lifestyle it provides for our family. And I have a sweet niece, who also suffers from Crohn’s disease. I will have to give her your link to your blog.

    Homemade yogurt – sounds yummy to me. Anything homemade is what we enjoy here.

  6. Pingback: Of Food and Travel « Free to Feast

  7. I could never eat yogurt, until I found Greek yogurt by Chobani.
    No more acids coming up my throat, twice the amount of protein.
    I love this stuff!

Leave a Reply

