Gastrointestinal Disorders and Seasonal Change


Have you ever wondered why, after months of eating the same thing and not having a reaction, that you suddenly have a painful bout of gastrointestinal upset? On the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, have you ever suddenly become sensitive to a food that is considered 100% legal?

I have, and it was confusing until I started seeing a pattern.

You see, every year, approximately between August and October, my sensitivity to food escalates. When I first started eating the SCD way, I was always in the hospital within that time period.

My first gastroenterologist explained to me that it is often the case that the change of the seasons affects our immune systems. One of his patients was always in the hospital in August, every year, without fail.

Thank God I am no longer in that boat. Two years ago September 15th, I paid my last visit to the hospital.

So what have I done to prepare for this seasonal sensitivity? I keep (or try to keep) to the diet diligently, and perhaps limit my intake of certain foods I know to be more hazardous at this time of year.

Let me give you an example. For me, fibrous foods have always been hazardous if overdone. For the most part, I watch my fiber carefully, but at this time of year, I would perhaps pick a non-fibrous food over a fibrous one, or cut my portions even more than I do on a regular basis.

Everyone’s situation will be different. It’s all part of learning to read your body correctly and plan ahead for the times when you are weakened.

3 thoughts on “Gastrointestinal Disorders and Seasonal Change

  1. Thanks for sharing. I have been mulling over this same thing lately. I too always get a flare in August- October. Both of my worst hospital stays were almost identical in dates in September three years apart. As for SCD, I was not using SCD three years ago but was on the diet this time. I’m glad to see what your gastro doc said. I plan to ask my gastro doc at my next appointment. Interesting stuff, I wonder if hospitals notice an increase in patients around these months. Glad to here the diet is working for you and keeping you hospital free.

Leave a Reply

