SCD and the Common Cold


I am shamefully aware of how neglectful of my blog I’ve been these past couple of months, what with my family’s trips to New York and Idaho. Then, on top of that, I had to get sick. Wonderful.

Praise God, I wasn’t *that* kind of sick. No, just an ugly sore throat and cold.

Sometimes it can be difficult treating colds and such when you are on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. If I catch it in time, I use various natural remedies with all legal ingredients.

However, this time, my cold/sore throat came upon me so suddenly and so powerfully that I had to seek stronger types of antibiotics. (EDIT: I meant to say medicines :-/)

Having been on the diet for almost four years, I didn’t have as many qualms about Zicam’s cold remedy spray. It’s got sugar, but since I am only using it for a couple of days, I am hardly concerned. However, for those in the beginning stages of the SCD, I would suggest you avoid all medicines that are not legal.

I admit that I don’t have nearly enough knowledge about what to use and what not to use on the SCD against the common cold. What do you do?

5 thoughts on “SCD and the Common Cold

  1. Olive Leaf extract is a wonderful infection fighter and is widely available. I don’t know if it is legal for you but we love not having to use antibiotics every time. :-)

Leave a Reply

