Giving Thanks… In Everything

Posted: June 1, 2010 in Crohn's Disease, Faith
Tags: , ,

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you”

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18.

Is that verse up there saying what I think it’s saying?

Yes. I kid you not. I quoted that verse word for word. I even emphasized that one certain phrase in every way possible so that y’all are sure to see it.

I’ll quote it again for good measure.

In everything give thanks.

What does that mean? Does it mean we should be thankful for all the good things God has given us, every gift Christ has bestowed on us through His precious blood? Well, yes, of course it means those things.

Does it mean being thankful for the whole earth, all the resources available to us, all our family, friends, etc? Again, yes.

Does it mean being thankful in the midst of dealing with a gastrointestinal disease? Cancer? Death?

Yes.

I don’t say that flippantly. I am scared of these things. While life has its blessings, life is also a tragedy, stained by sin. Just as there are good things in our lives, there are bad things that disrupt our lives and, sometimes, alter our lives forever.

Our natural instinct is to loath these things, to ask God why He ordained such things to happen to His children. To rebel against them with all our being.

In everything give thanks.

That means just what it says–everything. Although I suffer from a gastrointestinal disorder–which I would give anything to be rid of–I give thanks, because I know the Lord is challenging me, as a Father to His child. He is asking me a question. Do I trust Him with my life? Or do I lean on my own understanding (Proverbs 3:5-6)? Do I depend on my finite knowledge or His infinite knowledge?

God is challenging me for a reason. I may not know what that reason is, but praise God that He sees in me something worth challenging!

Amen.

Comments
  1. Naomi says:

    Have you ever thought of the scripture this way: It says “IN every thing give thanks”, not FOR every thing. Now I would never go so far as to say one should not give thanks for diseases, or whatever. But the verse does say to give thanks IN every thing, perhaps meaning to give thanks to God in the midst of the disease or whatever the challenge. We are assured that God is perfecting us, and though He may not necessarily inflict us with disease and sickness (we can do and have done a good job of that ourselves by way of poor diet or other lifestyles), He certainly uses our circumstances to mould us and teach us and perfect us. For that, we can and should give thanks.

    Respectfully and humbly submitted by Naomi

  2. This is just what I needed to read this morning. Thank you so much for the encouragement and for sharing with us your strong faith in Christ. I always enjoy your ‘thoughts’ posts so much!

    ~Aubree Cherie

Leave a Reply

