Recipe Remedies: Blackberry Thumbprint Cookies

Posted: May 28, 2010 in Recipe Remedies, SCD, Specific Carbohydrate Diet
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Good afternoon!

My family is having some friends over for dinner tonight, and I decided to make some cookies for dessert. I’d been thinking about thumbprint cookies for some time and finally tried them out with SCD restrictions.

Thumbprint Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup fruit preserves, any flavor

Now, at first glance, this might not seem like much of a remedy. Replace the sugar with honey and the flour with coconut flour. However, coconut flour is drier than regular wheat flours. I discovered, with my first attempt at thumbprint cookies, that you can’t just substitute the same amounts for all-purpose.

So, I started with one cup, stirring it in gradually. After that, I used 1/4 cup measures. I only used slightly over one cup, instead of the 1 3/4 cup the recipe calls for.

As for the preserves, I substituted crushed blackberries, blended with unflavored gelatin and honey.

Blackberry Thumbprint Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 egg yolks
  • approx. 1 cup coconut flour

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup blackberries, crushed
  • 2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
  • honey, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together butter, honey, and egg yolks. Mix in flour a little bit at a time until soft dough forms. Roll dough into 1 inch balls. If dough is too soft, refrigerate 15-20 minutes. Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Use your finger or an instrument of similar size to make a well in the center of each cookie.
  3. Bake 8-10 minutes in preheated oven, until golden-brown on bottom. Remove from baking sheet to cool on wire racks.
  4. While cookies are cooling, crush blackberries in a food processor, until smooth. Add two teaspoons of unflavored gelatin and honey, to taste. When cookies are cooled, place on a plate and fill with blackberry mixture. Chill for one hour, or until ready to serve.

Bon Appetit!

  • Like “Recipe Remedies”? Don’t miss a single one! Subscribe for e-mail or RSS updates, and feel free to comment below to tell me what you think. Your feedback is much appreciated. Happy cooking, everyone!

(I entered this recipe in Sugar Free Sunday, Tempt My Tummy TuesdaySlightly Indulgent Tuesday 6/1/10, Real Food Wednesday 6/2/10, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays 6/2/10)

Comments
  1. tastyeatsathome says:

    Congrats! It’s hard to get cookies to “feel” the same without sugar (and gluten), isn’t it? These sound delicious.

    • I know what you mean. This is the first cookie I’ve ever made with nut flour that has actually come close to feeling “normal.” And they were delicious… We only have about eight left. :D

  2. Was it a dense cookie? Coconut flour absorbs a lot of moisture, it’s also hyper allergenic – so it’s perfect for those with nut allergies or sensitivities.

    • It was just a little dense. I don’t mind a denser cookie myself, so it might be a little denser to others than it would be to me. :D I didn’t know that coconut flour was hyper allergenic! Thanks for the info!

  3. Gabriel says:

    Wow impressive! You had just hooked me up with your blogs. I will try this at home and my kids will surely crave for this. Share more!!!

  4. naomi says:

    They look lovely – you could always add a dollop of hung yogurt or french cream when you eat them if they’re a little too sable. I like a dense cookie too though. They sound amazing.

    x x x

  5. naomi says:

    I also meant to ask, would you like to host a month of Go Ahead Honey it’s Gluten Free? I have april, May and June 2011 left. You choose the theme. If you’re interested then let me know by email (naomidevlin at f2s dot com)

    x x x

  6. Alisa says:

    This recipe sure is a keeper!
    If you won’t mind I’d love to guide foodista readers to your site.Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and it’s good to go.Thanks!

  7. Thanks for linking to Sugar Free Sunday! These cookies sound delicious, and I like the way you explain your step-by-step method to determine the correct amount of flour substitute. I only recently started trying to eat sugar free, so I am starting with commercially available sugar-free products and building my confidence as I become more familiar with what’s “out there”.

    Thanks again, for linking, and for the informative post!

    Charlene

  8. Suzy says:

    I hope these hit the spot for you. They look cute!

  9. Tracee says:

    These look great. My mother-in-law likes to make her thumbprint cookies for everyone, except she has’nt been able to make her recipe for my son (her only grandchild who she’s spoiled rotten). He’s allergic to coconut, but maybe these would work with almond flour? If so this will be perfect.

  10. Brenda says:

    Those are fun cookies to make.

  11. Linda says:

    Coconut flour was a great idea. I love thumbprint cookies, but haven’t made them in a long time. Thanks for participating in Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

  12. beckarie says:

    YUM! These look delicious! I can’t wait to make them! Thanks for the recipe!

  13. Megan says:

    Sounds great! Can’t think of anything better on a cold winter’s night!

  14. Kara says:

    I only recently started trying to eat sugar free, so I am starting with commercially available sugar-free products and building my confidence. thanx for posting.

  15. Michelle says:

    I made these cookies last year for the holidays, they were soooo good. I went to look for the recipe this year and could only find the cover page with no recipe. I was frantic because they tasted so good and I wanted to make them again this year.

  16. Diane says:

    I love thumbprint cookies, but haven’t made them in a long time. Thanks for participating in Gluten-Free Wednesdays, anyway thanx for sharing.

  17. Jane says:

    These cookies sound delicious, and I like the way you explain your step-by-step method to determine the correct amount of flour substitute. anyway thanx for the tips.

  18. Katie says:

    Wow..I feel really good when I heard or saw a word cookie..I love eating cookies while watching tv. I never tried this recipe and hope to get the perfect taste. I’m sure it really taste good..Thanks Denise.

  19. Brittany says:

    These were fantastic! A tad time consuming but very much worth it.

  20. Debbie says:

    These look great! Just found your blog and I can not wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

