Recipe Remedies: Blackberry Jam


Last weekend, my family and I hosted a couple of our friends from northern Texas. They love to cook and introduced us to homemade strawberry jam! Unfortunately, it had fruit pectin in it, which is illegal on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet.

Still, I fixed this recipe with very few modifications. I figured that unflavored gelatin could easily take the place of fruit pectin, and I was right. As it happened, the gelatin package had a “slushy fruit cup” recipe on it, so I combined the two to make homemade blackberry jam! (I didn’t have enough strawberries on hand)

The Original Recipes

Blackberry Jam

  • 5 cups crushed berries
  • 7 cups sugar
  • 1 1.75 oz package fruit pectin

Slushy Fruit Cups

  • 1 envelope unflavored gelatin
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 (6 0z) can frozen lemonade concentrate
  • 1 (20 0z) can crushed unsweetened pineapple
  • 2 bananas, thinly sliced
  • 1 (10 0z) package frozen strawberries, thawed

Well. I didn’t have strawberries, bananas, or pineapple, so of course I left those out. And I didn’t have nearly enough blackberries to make a large batch, so I used just 1 cup of blackberries in place of the five cups listed above. I substituted the 1/2 cup sugar in the slushy recipe for 1/4 cup honey, and I omitted the lemon concentrate.

Feel free to adjust the honey to your particular taste. I don’t like a strong taste of honey, so the 1/4 cup was just enough to sweeten the berries, but no more.

Blackberry Jam

  • I envelope unflavored gelatin
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup blackberries, crushed

Instructions

  1. In large saucepan, stir together gelatin, water, and honey. Heat over low heat until gelatin dissolves, about 5-6 minutes. Add crush blackberries, stir until well-blended. Pour into mason jar and refrigerate.

Enjoy!

  • Like “Recipe Remedies”? Don’t miss a single one! Subscribe for e-mail or RSS updates, and feel free to comment below to tell me what you think. Your feedback is much appreciated. Happy cooking, everyone!

(I entered this recipe in Slightly Indulgent Tuesday 5/11/10, Real Food Wednesday 5/12/10, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays 5/12/10)

15 thoughts on “Recipe Remedies: Blackberry Jam

  1. Hurrah for you!! Your amazing. Next time we come down, I’ll show you how to can it!
    Love and hugs,
    Kieran

  2. I have been contemplating how to make a sugar-free jam. THANK YOU! I’m so making this while we’re in the height of berry season.

  3. I am definitely going to use this recipe! I have great intentions of picking a lot of my own fruit this year, and what a fun way to preserve some of it! Thanks for the post! :)

    ~Aubree Cherie

  4. Nice blog, i like it, its informative,
    i will visit his blog more often.
    i like your article specially about
    Recipe Remedies: Blackberry JamMay 7, 2010

    Cheers

  5. So I tried out your recipe last night – my only change was that I added a bit of orange zest, just “because”. Only I made a lot of jam – I multiplied your recipe by 7! (I bought a lot of blackberries, they were 77 cents per 6 oz container) It tastes wonderful, but I did notice that the heavier “stuff” settled to the bottom of the jar, so I had to stir it up a bit before using. What did you do about this? And I froze a bunch of it – I wonder how that’ll turn out. :) Anyway, I’m hoping to make some sort of dairy-free biscuit tomorrow and look forward to eating jam on it!

  6. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream (Dairy-Free and Vegan) « Tasty Eats At Home

  7. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Cream (Dairy-Free and Vegan) | Tasty Eats at Home

Leave a Reply

