Recipe Remedies: Trout Almondine


I was inspired by an old TV show to attempt this dish, and I’m so glad I did!

The Original Recipe

  • 8 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons black pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • salt, to taste
  • 4 fresh sea trout fillets, 5 to 6 ounces each
  • all-purpose flour, as needed
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley

Yogurt is a substitute for buttermilk, so of course I used my homemade yogurt. Instead of garlic powder, I used two medium-sized garlic cloves. Lastly, I substituted coconut flour for the all-purpose flour. I coated the trout a little too much–next time I plan to sprinkle the flour  over the trout sparingly.

Trout Almondine

  • 8 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup homemade yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons black pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed
  • salt, to taste
  • 4 fresh sea trout fillets, 5 to 6 ounces each
  • coconut flour, used sparingly
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley

Instructions

  1. Melt 1 1/2 tablespoons butter in pan. Saute almonds in butter until golden brown. Remove from stove and set aside.
  2. Season yogurt with salt, pepper, and garlic. Dip fish in yogurt mixture, then sprinkle cocount flour sparingly over both sides. Shake excess flours from fillets.
  3. Melt 5 tablespoons of butter in skillet and saute fillets until golden brown. Remove from stove. Place on a warm serving plate and keep hot.
  4. In the same skillet, add lemon juice, 1 1/2 teaspoon butter and toasted almonds. Saute for 1 minute, until hot. Pour over fish, sprinkle with parsley, and serve.

Bon appetit!

  • Like “Recipe Remedies”? Don’t miss a single one! Subscribe for e-mail or RSS updates, and feel free to comment below to tell me what you think. Your feedback is much appreciated. Happy cooking, everyone!

(I entered this recipe in Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays 4/27/10, Gluten-Free Wednesdays 4/28/10, and Real Food Wednesday 4/28/10)

6 thoughts on “Recipe Remedies: Trout Almondine

  1. I’ve been struggling with liking fish lately. I feel they would be an excellent way to get added nutrients in my diet, but I’m not a huge fan of how they taste. This recipe, though, gives me hope! I really hope I can try it :)

    I’ve also linked to this recipe with my Favorite Top Ten Recipes of last week list!

    ~Aubree Cherie

    • Thanks for linking me, Aubree! And I would definitely encourage you to cultivate a taste for fish. The Omega 3′s in salmon calm inflammation in the gut!! I take Cod liver oil (flavored with lemon, thank goodness) after dinner.

  2. Almonds go well with so many things. I’ve never thought of pairing it with fish though. Thanks for the recipe, and for participating in Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

  3. I love trout almondine. It’s something I’ve ordered out many time. I’ve never made it though, so thanks for the recipe!

    Thanks!

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

